Cock a Leekie Soup

During the winter we make soup about once every two weeks.  We save the bones from our roasts and vegetable cuttings in a bag in the freezer and use them to make delicious hearty  stock.  Cock a leekie soup is one of our new favorites.  It is a  Scottish soup made of leeks and chicken that is often served at Robbie Burns dinners. Prunes are included in most of the recipes but I don’t have any on hand so I am not using them in this recipe.  You can also finish the soup off with some chopped parsley if you have some.  Yes it has a funny name but I promise you that it is easy to make, inexpensive and delicious and you will want to make it throughout the winter to warm the cockles of your heart.  The measurements in this recipe are only an approximation – we mix it up a little bit every time using whatever we have on hand and it is tasty every time.

Ingredients – Serves 4-6

  • 8 cups of turkey or chicken stock
  • 3 leeks – use the white and green parts
  • 2 lbs of chicken – bone in and skin removed  (Last time I used 2 hind quarters and 1 chicken breast because that’s what I had in the freezer.  Just use what you have and it will taste great.  The bones will add extra flavour to the broth)
  • ¼ cup pearl barley
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Sprinkling of thyme
  • Pepper to taste

Step 1: Bring stock to a boil and then add the chicken.

Step 2: Cut and wash the leeks. Start by cutting the leeks lengthwise and wash the dirt from inside. There’s a lot of it in there so clean thoroughly. Once clean, chop them up.

Step 3: Add the pearl barley, leeks, bay leaf and thyme to the stock and cook for about 30-40 minutes.  It will be done when the chicken is cooked, the barley is soft and the leeks are no longer crisp.

Step 4: Take the chicken and the bay leaf out of the soup.  Let is cool for a moment and cut off the meat and return the meat to the soup.  (Make sure to get all of the bones out of the soup!)

Step 5: Taste and season with pepper.  we don’t add salt but you may want to add some. You can also add parsley here if you want.

Step 6: Enjoy!

About thethirstygourmet

I love creating delicious food and experimenting with new ingredients. This obsession has led me on an interesting journey that is both good for my wallet as well as my soul. Nothing pleases me more than sharing my creations with friends and family and I hope that you will join me on this exploration. -A woman who brews and bakes-
This entry was posted in Great deals, Holiday, Poultry, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cock a Leekie Soup

  1. Janet Kennedy says:

    This sounds yummy! I make a similar soup using potatoes, leeks and thyme, but I think the substitution of barley and addition of chicken would make it even better! Thanks … love your blog, Meagan! I will definitely follow it. CHEERS 🙂

  2. Julie-Anne says:

    Sounds yummy and very easy! Great idea about the blog…I’ll be following it!

  3. You can also use rice but I prefer the taste and consistency of barley in soup.

  4. rhi says:

    Delicious! And it was so easy! I will definitely make this again. Plus it’s fun to say…

  5. Nancy Baroni says:

    Made the soup this weekend. It was a hit – thanks for posting this recipe!

Leave a Reply

