Tomato Sauce

Ingredients – serves 2 -4

  • 1 – large 28 oz can of San Marzano tomatoes
  • 6 garlic cloves – chopped
  • 6 tbs extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large bunch of fresh basil (aprox 2/3 cup) washed and torn into small pieces
  • salt and pepper

Step 1: Remove all of the basil leaves from their stock and tear them into small pieces. 

Step 3: Put the oil, garlic, tomatoes, salt and some fresh ground pepper in a sauce pan and cook uncovered for 20-25 minutes.  Stir occasionally and break up any big tomatoes with a spoon.  Whatever you do – do not put a lid on the sauce. Taste the sauce and add more salt if necessary.

Step 5: Right before serving mix in the basil – reserving some as a garnish.

About thethirstygourmet

I love creating delicious food and experimenting with new ingredients. This obsession has led me on an interesting journey that is both good for my wallet as well as my soul. Nothing pleases me more than sharing my creations with friends and family and I hope that you will join me on this exploration. -A woman who brews and bakes-
This entry was posted in Vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Tomato Sauce

  1. Pingback: Cajun spiced fish on a bed of tomato sauce | thethirstygourmet

Leave a comment